CONNECT WITH US:            

116 All-Stars Suit up for 16th GTHL Midget All-Star Festival

By Neil Hilts on January 28, 2017


Midget players in the Greater Toronto Hockey League (GTHL) got a top-flight experience during the 16th Annual GTHL Midget All-Star Festival in mid-January.

For some, it was one of their final memories in minor hockey, but for others, it gave a chance for bright stars to prove themselves in front of Junior scouts.

A total of 116 players across Midget A, AA and AAA played in North York, Ont. The AAA teams were chosen by league evaluators, while the other two squads came from coaching nominations. 

In the AAA matchup, Team Red bested Team White 5-4 behind two goals from Scott Gaetz and two helpers from Erich Roeder. Red was down 4-3 with half the third to play, but countered with goals nearly a minute apart to take the lead. Gaetz won the MVP for Red while White’s goalie James Elmhurst was named his team’s MVP.

Over at the Midget A game, it was an offensive storm, with Red winning the firefight 10-7 over White. With just over two minutes in the second period, Cooper Mair scored for Red to cut the deficit to 7-5 – it was be the first of six straight, including five in the final frame.

Andrew Laver scored twice for Red, while the MVP Matthew Di Poce had a goal and two assists. White’s MVP Aaron Fuss had two goals about four minutes apart in the second.

In the AA game, defence was the story as White stayed winless, falling 3-2 to Red. Thanks to a goal in each period, Red built a lead large enough to ward off the two goals White notched in the final frame. Red’s goalie Dylan Cox and White’s James Keane, who recorded a goal and an assist, were the game’s MVPs. 

Back to Top

By Neil Hilts| January 28, 2017
Categories:  Minor Hockey
Keywords:  GTHL

Add A Comment


Allowed HTML: <b>, <i>, <u>, <a>




Most Read:
1) Yale Hockey Academy forward Jake Chiasson named the 2018 HockeyNow Minor Hockey Player of Year in B.C. powered by HockeyShot
2) OHA Edmonton forward Sean Tschigerl named the 2018 HockeyNow Minor Hockey Player of Year in AB powered by HockeyShot
3) Former HockeyNow Player of the Year Bowen Byram making Giant strides in the WHL
4) The 2018 HockeyNow Minor Hockey Players of the Year ready for the next level
5) Toronto Marlboros defenceman Jamie Drysdale named the 2018 HockeyNow Minor Hockey Player of Year in ON powered by HockeyShot

Cumberland Grads netminder making the most of CCHL opportunity

- See more at:

Krebs and Byram making strong case for top-round consideration in 2016 WHL Draft

- See more at: