CONNECT WITH US:            

2018 Alberta Cup Kicks off in Spruce Grove

By HockeyNow on April 26, 2018


The 2018 Alberta Cup is officially underway, with eight teams made up of Alberta top 2003-born male players competing for the provincial crown.

The Eight teams facing off are: Calgary North, Calgary South, Central, Edmonton Blue, Edmonton Yellow, Northeast, Northwest and South.

The teams will play in a four-day, tournament-format competition. The event also features an education seminar hosted by the WHL.

This year’s event features several players shortlisted for our Player of the Year Award, namely: Jayden Grubbe (Calgary South), Craig Armstrong (Central), Dylan Guenther (Edmonton Blue), Jacob Romanchuk (Edmonton Blue), Sean Tschigerl (Edmonton Yellow), Brett Hyland (Edmonton Yellow), Corson Ceulemans (Northeast), Marc Lajoie (Northwest) and Zack Ostapchuk (Northwest). The Player of the Year award winners for B.C., Alberta and Ontario in July.

The Alberta Cup is the premier event in the province that helps identify the top male players in Alberta. It is well attended by scouts as they prepare for the Western Hockey League’s bantam draft. In addition to player evaluations, the competition is also an opportunity for administrators, coaches, trainers and referees to be evaluated for future positions with the Team Alberta Program.

Alberta Cup graduates include Matt Dumba, Braden Holtby, Jay Bouwmeester, Dion Phaneuf, Scott Hartnell, Jordan Eberle, Devan Dubnyk, and Andrew Ference.

Follow HN for the latest from the Alberta Cup.


Back to Top

By HockeyNow| April 26, 2018
Categories:  Minor Hockey
Keywords:  AB Minor Hockey

Add A Comment


Allowed HTML: <b>, <i>, <u>, <a>




Most Read:
1) Yale Hockey Academy forward Jake Chiasson named the 2018 HockeyNow Minor Hockey Player of Year in B.C. powered by HockeyShot
2) OHA Edmonton forward Sean Tschigerl named the 2018 HockeyNow Minor Hockey Player of Year in AB powered by HockeyShot
3) Former HockeyNow Player of the Year Bowen Byram making Giant strides in the WHL
4) The 2018 HockeyNow Minor Hockey Players of the Year ready for the next level
5) Toronto Marlboros defenceman Jamie Drysdale named the 2018 HockeyNow Minor Hockey Player of Year in ON powered by HockeyShot

Cumberland Grads netminder making the most of CCHL opportunity

- See more at:

Krebs and Byram making strong case for top-round consideration in 2016 WHL Draft

- See more at: