CONNECT WITH US:            

St. Albert Slash Dominating Final Days of AFHL Midget AAA Season

By Kirk Budden on February 24, 2017

The Alberta Female Hockey League’s Midget AAA level saw one team that stood alone at the top with just a handful of regular season games left. Through 24 regular season games, the St. Albert Slash went 21-2-1, placing them 21 points above the second place Rocky Mountain Raiders. 

The powerhouse Slash have been bolstered by some effective forwards during their run with the top three pointgetters in the league. As of mid-February, Madison Willan had accumulated 35 points, Cassidy Maplethorpe, 33, and Tyra Meropoulis, 31. 

The three dominated the leaderboards as they collectively occupied the top two spots in points, goals and assists. The three also exploded for a combined 16 points against the Calgary Fire on Jan. 7 in a 7-2 win. Meropoulis led the way with five goals and an assist, Willan also had six points, one goal and five assists, while Maplethorpe added four assists. 

Not surprisingly, St. Albert also carries the top goalie in the league in Brianna Sank, who was tied for best save percentage at .940 and held the best goals against average with a 1.34. Though the Red Deer Sutter Fund Chiefs were able to be a stub in the Slash’s toe by winning 1-0 and forcing a 0-0 tie in January, they sit 2 spots and 30 points back of the leader heading into the final games of the season. The AFHL Midget AAA playoffs start on Mar. 6 and the Slash will be looking to advance to the provincials later in March.


Back to Top

By Kirk Budden| February 24, 2017
Categories:  Minor Hockey

Add A Comment


Allowed HTML: <b>, <i>, <u>, <a>




Most Read:
1) JUNIOR B UPDATE: KIJHL’s Castlegar Rebels announce new coach and GM; Sharp calling the shots for HJHL’s Three Hills Thrashers
2) On Top of the World: CSSHL Keeps Gaining Traction in Canada’s Hockey Landscape
3) Around the WHL: Eleven WHL players help Canada win Hlinka Gretzky gold; Tigers deal White to ICE
4) Meet Matthew Savoie, the NAX Forward Taking the CSSHL by Storm
5) Meet The Winners Of The 2018 HockeyNow Minor Hockey Player Of The Year Award Powered By Hockeyshot

Cumberland Grads netminder making the most of CCHL opportunity

- See more at:

Krebs and Byram making strong case for top-round consideration in 2016 WHL Draft

- See more at: