CONNECT WITH US:              

2013 Minor Hockey Player Of The Year January (First-Half) Regional Rankings

By  on January 13, 2013

Vancouver, Coast & Mountains

  1. Jake Kryski, F, BWC

  2. Dante Fabbro, D, BWC

  3. Beck Malenstyn, F, OHA via South Delta

  4. Quinn Benjafield, F, NSWC

  5. Dante Hannoun, F, NSWC

  6. Matt Barberis, D, BWC

  7. Tak Anholt, F, NSWC

  8. Davis Koch, F, OHA via Semiahmoo

  9. Marshall Skapski, D, Abbotsford

  10. Caleb Fantillo, F, Coquitlam

  11. Cody Paivaranta, D, Abbotsford

  12. Keyvan Mokhtari, F, NSWC

  13. Ty Westgard, F, Semiahmoo

  14. Kyle Uy, F, BWC

  15. Clint Colebourn, D, NSWC

  16. Dennis Cholowski, D, Langley

  17. Jordan Dawson, D, South Delta


Thompson Okanagan

  1. Robbie Johnson, F, Kamloops

  2. Cody Allen, D, Kamloops


Vancouver Island

  1. Josh Anderson, D, Cowichan

  2. Brendon DeJong, Juan De Fuca


Cariboo Chilcotin Coast

  1. Keith Redden, F, Quesnel

  2. Cole Slaney, D, Quesnel


Northern British Columbia

  1. Darren Hards, F, Prince George

  2. Jamie Ferguson, G, Pringe George



  1. Jordan Roy, F, Lethbridge via Cranbrook


Rankings include B.C.’s best homegrown ’98-born Bantam players (not including transplanted players from other provinces or the U.S.).

In June, the selection committee will evaluate applications and announce a winner.

The 2013 Minor Hockey Player of the Year award will be presented at July’s BC Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Celebration. The award goes to the B.C. minor hockey player who best exemplifies sportsmanship, leadership, hockey ability & performance, and school & community participation.

B.C. Hockey Hall of Famer Dave Babych chairs a committee that includes Billy Coupland (Former NHL scout and current WHL Kelowna Rockets hockey department), Mario DiBella (MML Kootenay Ice head coach), Jim Hardington (WHL Moose Jaw Warriors B.C. region scout), Adam Hayduk (BCHL Alberni Valley Bulldogs assistant coach), Wade Klippenstein (WHL Prince George Cougars assistant GM and director of player personnel), Chris Moulton (WHL Spokane Chiefs director of scouting), Garry Popchinski (WHL Victoria Royals director of scouting), and Trevor Sprague (MML Cariboo Cougars head coach). 

For detailed info on the award, go to, click ‘B.C. Edition,’ and click ‘Events.’

Back to Top

January 13, 2013
Categories:  Minor Hockey

Add A Comment


Allowed HTML: <b>, <i>, <u>, <a>




Most Read
1) HN Insider: Incident in Lac St-Louis Lions Minor Hockey Club Woefully Lacking in Parental Intervention
2) The 5 Basics for Solid Hockey Nutrition
3) 10 CHL Sleeper Prospects to Watch
4) Prospect Profile: Michael Rasmussen (Tri-City Americans), Ivan Lodnia (Erie Otters) & Antoine Morand (Acadie-Bathurst Titan)
5) Defending OJHL Champion Trenton Golden Hawks Register Solid Start

Billet families: The backbone of major junior hockey

- See more at:

Cumberland Grads netminder making the most of CCHL opportunity

- See more at:

Krebs and Byram making strong case for top-round consideration in 2016 WHL Draft

- See more at:

© Copyright Metroland Media Group Ltd. All rights reserved. 2016