CONNECT WITH US:            

The Search Begins for the 2018 HockeyNow Minor Hockey Players of the Year

By HockeyNow on October 26, 2017


And we’re off! A new season means a fresh batch of candidates for our annual Minor Hockey Player of the Year Award. Since 2000, the award has been honouring players in their CHL draft year who are at the top of their game and exemplify a strong commitment to sportsmanship, leadership, and school and community participation.

Our selection committee, chaired by ISS Hockey founder and head scout Dennis MacInnis, releases preliminary lists of candidates each month for players in B.C., Alberta and Ontario.

Meet the first round of candidates, then check back often for special features, videos and updates leading up to our final announcement in July.

Preliminary list - BC 2003s, October 2017
Bentham, Nolan
Chiasson, Jake
Funk, Zachary
Gabrielson, Oliver
May, Sammy
Quiring, Steel
Samson, Ethan
Sward, Graham
Verbicky, Kobe
Wong, Trevor

Preliminary list - AB 2003s, October 2017
Ceulemans, Corson
Grubbe, Jayden
Guenther, Dylan
Hyland, Brett
Lajoie, Marc
Ostapchuk, Zack
Smith, Matt
Stankoven, Logan
Stringer, Zack
Tschigerl, Sean

Preliminary list - ON 2002s, October 2017
Bar, Jack
Butler, Cameron
Byfield, Quinton
Drysdale, Jamie
Moore, Lleyton
O'Rourke, Ryan
Perfetti, Cole
Portokalis, William
Power, Owen
Sebrango, Donovan

Back to Top

By HockeyNow| October 26, 2017
Categories:  Minor Hockey

Add A Comment


Allowed HTML: <b>, <i>, <u>, <a>




Most Read:
1) Team Canada’s Olympic Goalies Unveil Their Masks
2) Meet Matthew Savoie, the NAX Forward Taking the CSSHL by Storm
3) 2018 Olympic Preview: Team Canada Women's Hockey
4) Drake Batherson Taking Career Year One Highlight at a Time
5) Ty Ronning Hoping to Ride Career High to WHL Playoffs

Cumberland Grads netminder making the most of CCHL opportunity

- See more at:

Krebs and Byram making strong case for top-round consideration in 2016 WHL Draft

- See more at: